Celebrating Teaching at U of T

CTSI continues to coordinate submissions for institutional, national and international teaching awards and support faculty members and divisions in preparing teaching dossiers for submission. Through the development this past year of an aligned teaching awards process in collaboration with the Office of the Vice-Provost, Innovations in Undergraduate Education, we engaged with the broader community to increase awareness and celebration of teaching awards.

In 2016-17, CTSI provided significant leadership and support in the compilation of dossiers for institutional and external teaching awards. University of Toronto faculty members (see below) were recipients of both the 3M National Teaching Fellowship and the Ontario Confederation of University Faculty Associations (OCUFA) Teaching Award.

For a complete list of U of T teaching award recipients, please visit the CTSI website: https://archive.teaching.utoronto.ca/awards/

2017 Presidents’ Teaching Award Winners

Michelle French
Department of Physiology, Faculty of Medicine

Njoki Wane
Department of Social Justice Education, Ontario Institute for Studies in Education

2016-2017 University of Toronto Teaching Fellowship Recipient

Teresa Kramarz
Munk School of Global Affairs

2016 OCUFA Teaching Award Recipient

Jonathan Rose
Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

2017 3M National Teaching Fellowship

Greg EvansDepartment of Chemical Engineering & Applied Chemistry

2017 University of Toronto Early Career Teaching Award Recipients

Sanja Hinic-Frlog, Department of Biology, University of Toronto Mississauga

Dawn Kilkenny, Institute of Biomaterials & Biomedical Engineering

David Roberts, Innis College Urban Studies Program

Ashley Stirling, Faculty of Kinesiology & Physical Education

Launch of CTSI Academic Advisory Committee

September 2016 marked the initiation of the CTSI Academic Advisory Committee. Its function serves to not only facilitate the measured growth of CTSI as a unit, but more broadly advance the University’s institutionally supported pedagogical goals by coordinating alignment, resource sharing and synergies across the broader university community.

2016-2017 CTSI Academic Advisory Committee

Aarthi Ashok, Associate Professor, Teaching Stream, Biological Sciences, UTSC

Megan Burnett, Associate Director, CTSI

Sandy Carpenter, Teaching Assistants’ Training Program Coordinator

Andrew Dicks, Associate Professor, Teaching Stream, Chemistry

Indigo Esmonde, Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum, Teaching and Learning, OISE

Greg Evans, Professor, Dept. of Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry

Audrey Fried, Special Projects Officer, Vice-Provost, Faculty & Academic Life

Julie Hannaford, Deputy Chief Librarian

Will Heikoop, Online Learning Coordinator, Online Learning Strategies

Nancy Johnston, Associate Director, Curriculum and Student Support, Centre for Teaching and Learning, UTSC

June Larkin, Associate Professor, Teaching Stream, Equity Studies and Women & Gender Studies Institute

Karen Leslie, Director of the Centre for Faculty Development, Faculty of Medicine

Susan McCahan, Vice-Provost, Innovations in Undergraduate Education

Suzanne Stevenson, Vice Dean, Teaching and Learning, Faculty of Arts & Science

Tyler Tokaryk, Director, The Robert Gillespie Academic Skills Centre, UTM

Elizabeth Smyth, Vice Dean (Programs), School of Graduate Studies

Carol Rolheiser, Director, CTSI

Powerful Assessment at U of T: Contributions to an International Online Resource

As noted in last year’s Annual Report, CTSI hosted Geoff Scott, Emeritus Professor, Western Sydney University and Australian National Teaching Fellow on February 1, 2016. CTSI arranged a full day of presentations at CTSI, including a CTSI staff meeting, lunchtime talk, afternoon workshop, and a videotaped interview with Carol Rolheiser. Over this past year CTSI’s video production and U of T assessment examples have now been included in an international digital resource site for powerful assessment. The FLIPCurric (http:// flipcurric.edu.au/) currently has 6900 users around the world and includes a range of powerful assessment examples from U of T instructors. The video is also hosted on CTSI’s YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KL6Ki3eUZAk