Celebrating Teaching

CTSI provides support for faculty members and divisions preparing nomination packages for institutional, provincial and national teaching awards, including consultations and guidance around the compilation of nomination files. CTSI maintains an online database of U of T teaching award recipients at the institutional and external levels and administers the Teaching Excellence Awards for Teaching Assistants and graduate student Course Instructors.


Teaching Fellows

The U of T Teaching Fellowship Program supports emerging pedagogical leadership in the Teaching Stream at U of T. Over their two-year term, the cohort of Teaching Fellows works closely with CTSI and the Office of the Vice-Provost, Innovations in Undergraduate Education. In addition to developing their own pedagogical projects, they have regular access to mentoring and support by CTSI staff and contribute to CTSI activities.

2020-2022 Teaching Fellows
Maria Assif, Associate Professor, Teaching Stream, English, UTSC
Kerry Taylor, Assistant Professor, Teaching Stream, Criminology and Sociological Studies, FAS

2019-2021 Teaching Fellow
William Ju, Associate Professor, Teaching Stream, Program in Human Biology, FAS

2018-2020 Teaching Fellows (extended to June 2021 due to COVID-19)
Kathleen Liddle, Assistant Professor, Teaching Stream, Sociology, UTSC
Sarah Mayes-Tang, Assistant Professor, Teaching Stream, Department of Mathematics, FAS

President’s Teaching Awards

CTSI provides administrative support for the institution-wide President’s Teaching Award, and the CTSI Director participates in the selection committee and co-chairs the U of T Teaching Academy. We congratulate this year’s winners and welcome them to the University of Toronto Teaching Academy.

2020 PTA Recipients
Aarthi Ashok, Associate Professor, Teaching Stream, Biological Sciences, UTSC
Jeremy Lopez, Professor, English, FAS
Micah Stickel, Professor, Teaching Stream, Electrical & Computer Engineering, FASE

2020 Teaching Assistants Teaching Excellence Awards

Since 2003, the Teaching Assistants’ Training Program has awarded the Teaching Excellence Award to TAs across the university. This year’s recipients are:
Virginie Coindre, Institute of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering (IBBME), FASE
Marc De Benedetti, Chemical and Physical Sciences, UTM
Nida Mustafa, Interdisciplinary Centre for Health and Society, UTSC
Ryan Persadie, Women and Gender Studies, FAS
Julie Prior, English, FAS
Andrew Wilson, Mathematics, FAS

2020 Graduate Student Course Instructor Teaching Excellence Award

In 2015, the TATP launched this award for graduate student Course Instructors.
Danielle Tessaro, Human Geography, UTSC

For a complete list of U of T teaching award recipients, please visit the CTSI’s Teaching Awards.

Special Notice – Vivek Goel Faculty Citizenship Award 2020

Presented by U of T Alumni Association Awards of Excellence to Carol Rolheiser, Director, CTSI and Professor, Curriculum, Teaching and Learning, OISE in recognition of her many years of service to faculty development and leadership in support of teaching.